Anchored

Heb 6:18-19
“. . . we who have fled to take hold of the hope offered to us may be greatly encouraged. We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure.”

each day of each year as time keeps on going
a sparseness
a heaping
a trickling
a flowing
a season of reaping follows the sowing
a resting in knowing
the month is not May

like a bleached out wall from days of sunning
when I have become who I was becoming
no longer a youth
nor plagued by the truth
that I have become what I chose on the way
may God in His mercy forgive the excusing
the times I fell short in my lifetime of choosing
that brought me to be who I am on this day

bitter and sweet reads the scroll of my living
and messiness lives in the face of His giving
yet I am resigned to His sovereign design
that He is the Potter and I am the clay

naivety shrinks with the coming of evening
enticement of things
become less deceiving
the battle with pride
though potent
less seething
as focus becomes where security lay

the closer I get to that blessed restoring
as muscles diminish
synapses start shorting
in that move to the finish
that final reporting
God is my rock
my anchor
my stay

nothing can hinder
His righteous summation
my perfect defender
how firm the foundation
He is my hope
His grace my salvation
my fortress
my rock
my anchor
my stay

 ~JD Collier

Explore posts in the same categories: Poems

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.


