Forgive me Lord for I have sinned . . .


Not all sins are the same.
Obviously, they differ in intensity and in severity.
Not only that, but they differ in intentionality.
Some sins result from my ‘fallen’ condition and are not intentional.
Others are sins of choice. They are premeditated.
Whether briefly reflected upon or pondered extensively . . . . they are still chosen and thus, I am guilty of . . .

grieving the Spirit
dousing the flame
rejecting instruction
trouncing the Name
sneaking in darkness
turning from light
resisting the Savior
denying His might
dumping His image
snubbing His seal
ignoring His love
refusing God’s will . . .
that’s what I do
when
I
sin

agreeing with Jesus
that sin is profound
weeping
repenting
turning around
grasping His mercy
seeking His face
receiving His love
embracing His grace
living forgiveness
getting on track
fixing on Jesus
and not looking back . . .
that’s what I do
when
I’m
His

~JD Collier

“If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.  If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives.” 1 John 1:8-10

 “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.  Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” Phil 3:12-14

“Therefore . . . let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”  Heb. 12:1-2

“Finally, brothers . . . live in order to please God . . . we ask you and urge you in the Lord Jesus to do this more and more.”  1 Thessalonians 4:1  NIV

Explore posts in the same categories: Poems

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.


