O Restless Mind

Mankind is so performance oriented, from the toddler who must perform on the potty chair to the CEO that must turn a healthy profit to the Christian that must work to be pleasing to God.  Restlessness, stress, and anxiety flow from this performance orientation.  No matter how much we do there is always something more that should be done. But there another kind of ‘doing’, a ‘doing’ that flows naturally from a soul at rest, one that comes from trusting in Jesus.  Jesus said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” (Matt 11:28-30).  “Now we who have believed enter that rest” (Heb 4:3).  When I believe that Jesus is who He says He is, the Messiah of God that forgives all my sins and offers me the free gift of His grace, I can finally relax and find “rest for my soul”.  He did everything that needs to be done to give me rest.  When, on the cross, Jesus said, “It is finished,” the work was done.  No further performance on my part is necessary.  He did it all!  The more I focus on Jesus and His finished work the greater my experience of rest, a rest that gives a deep down physical relaxation as well as security for my soul.  “O mind of my body stay focused on Him!”

O restless mind
unruly heart
though made in the image
of God thou art
precariously close
to deity
creations great risk—
a mind
that is free

O volitional mind
with subtleties marked
willfully choosing
mind
above heart
how can one change
so wild a companion
reversing the curse
rebellion abandon

O thanks be to God
through Jesus our Lord
an offering of peace
to a mind of discord
no condemnation
salvation has come
a resting in Jesus
the work has been done

O restless mind
from death knell cured
cleansed by the Spirit
bathed in the Word
trusting in Jesus
turning from sin
O mind
of my body
stay
focused
on
Him

~JD Collier

“But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions — it is by grace you have been saved.”  Eph 2:4-5  NIV

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Poems

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “O Restless Mind”

  1. Debbie Says:

    Wonderful poem and word for us, JD. Thank you and God bless!


  2. This is such a great poem!


Leave a Reply

